Some say that life in big cities is becoming more difficult. Others say that it is becoming easier.

Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

People have different takes on living in major cities. While many express that urban life is becoming more challenging, I believe that it is becoming easier and more accessible.

Concerns regarding the increasing difficulty of urban life are not without a cause. To begin with, it is observable that life expenses in metropolises have skyrocketed in recent years. This results in the increasing numbers of homeless people who have extremely low living standards which can be witnessed in cities such as New York or California. Another worrying issue is the environmental pollution caused by population explosions and ineffective management. For instance, that too many people driving too many cars is polluting the air with toxic fumes and this, unfortunately, has made countless citizens suffer from asthma and other chronic respiratory diseases as an inevitable consequence.

Although I acknowledge the validity of the raised points, I believe they are encountered by two powerful counterarguments. Firstly, there are greater employment opportunities with very rewarding salaries in big cities as international corporations are investing heavily in these places. Those who work hard and take chances are likely to be offered highly paid jobs, which can help them cope with the costly expenses. Secondly, measures to regulate immigration and policies to improve urban facilities are being implemented by governments around the world. Cutting-edge technologies are combating the current pressure exerted on the environment and therefore, raise the overall public health.

In conclusion, I take the view that the existing difficulties in urban life can be overcome by various means.