Some teachers say students should be organized into groups to study. Others argue students should be made study alone. Tell the benefits of each study method. Which one do you think is more effective ?

Education providers, students and parents widely argue on which method of studying is better, studying in small groups also known as "group study" or studying alone or as I call it going solo. Each of these has its own pros and cons.

Studying in groups, especially, groups formed of student from diverse backgrounds allows the group participants to learn how to work in teams. It develops the abilities of leadership, teamwork, good listening, reasoning, accepting difference of opinion and enables students to appreciate the importance of interdependence. However, there needs to be a disciplined approach to group study with clear definition of objective from the beginning. A more thought through method enables focus and goal orientation, otherwise the whole objective of "group study" may be lost and as happens more often the students tend to have fun discussing everything other than study.

Studying alone allows students to concentrate on their studies alone and encourages self-planning. Students are able to develop their skills such as research, self-discipline, hard work. They are able to measure the impact of their hard work on the results and hence the method encourages self-assessment among them. This in return helps them to know which areas need improvement on and promotes self-confidence among them. Due to less peer pressure and criticism, which is often present in group study, students only need to put in all their efforts in studies and hence may achieve better results as compared to group studies.

Both ways of studying have their advantages and disadvantages and it is more about personal choice and comfort of the student. With the end objective of studying and scoring good grades in mind, a student and his mentors should be able of analyse which method is most suitable for them given their personality types. A student who is easily distracted from studies due to the presence of others may prefer studying alone. On the other hand a student more comfortable in knowing others' point of view and learns from its peers may be more suitable for a group study.