Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think that this is a positive or negative development?

Technology today has provided huge ease in our lives. For instance, there are few schools now that offer online courses instead of coming to actual classes. Certainly this trend is beneficial for those who cannot go to the campus on a regular basis. However, some will find this an ineffective way of teaching students. It is in my belief that the growth of online courses is a positive development in the society’s educational progress.

Many people argue that classes done on the internet is not a good idea. The reason is due to the fact that students will not be able to participate actively in the discussion unlike in a traditional lecture done in a classroom. As a result, enrollees to the course lack personal interaction with their teachers and classmates. To cite an example, University of the East in Philippines offers distant learning for Filipino overseas worker but the success rate of this program was just less than 30% because participants find it hard to comply through online basis.

The alternative of having online classes is a positive development specially now that majority of the households have internet access. Working students and stay at home young mothers can benefit with this advancement because they have the opportunity to continue their education on their convenient time without having to give up their day time job or sacrificing their time with their children. To illustrate, Koreans were able to learn English on their own time and pace thus, making online English course very popular in South Korea.

In summary, having an options to continue studies without having to go to an actual school is a good progress in a society because it provides alternative to individuals who are unable to complete their course due to some circumstances.