Successful sports stars and glamorous film stars are role models for youngsters. Do you support it or not? (Agree/ disagree)

The role of celebrities, be it in sports or in entertainment, as a role model for youngsters is widely debated, with many people claiming that these famous personalities have hardly any didactic purpose to serve. In my opinion, this notion merits serious consideration.

There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that these famous personalities often show the brighter side of their lifestyle and most of the inner aspects of their characteristics are hidden from the public. Not only are they involved in a race against each other to gain name, fame and money, but they are also unhappy in their family life, thus leading to many complications like depression, frustration, loneliness and the like. Needless to say, the likelihood that these shallow, artificial and greedy people will benefit youths in shaping their beliefs and ideologies in a positive way is bleak indeed and so no one would recommend that a teenager should pursue an artificial life like this. (Needless to say, all these demerits have a far-reaching impact on youngsters.)

Another overt facet of following celebrities is that rarely do they possess such essential attributes as moral and ethical values that are deemed vital in becoming a good human being. Besides, thanks to the ubiquity of the Internet and the popularity of the social networking sites, youngsters who are both immature and vulnerable are readily exposed to celebrities’ brawling over insignificant things and verbally assaulting their counterparts and what not. Hence, it is apparent why many believe that teenagers should rather imitate the lifestyle of their parents or teachers, who possess a deluge of qualities, from sincerity and honesty to perseverance and dedication. (Hence, it is apparent why many are against a youth’s following these artificial people as their role model.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the drawbacks associated with the youth’s imitating the lifestyle of celebrities are indeed too dire to ignore.