There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people's health and well-being.

What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

The trend in usage of cars increasing over the years. There is no wonder that, in future car will become a necessity in human life. Today, it is evident that, each and every family has a car. On an extreme scenario, some families own two or more cars. The pollution caused by cars to both society and environment is massive. So, appropriate actions should be formulated to discourage increase usage.

One such action should be to organize awareness campaign to car owners on the amount of affect they cause to extend world by increase usage. This campaign should be viral in social print and visual media. Publish the affect of global warming and health concerns due to fuel emissions.

Other such action should be the financial implications. Additional tax scheme should be legalized for any externalities caused by car users. The tax should be charged for each kilometers they travel in car.This tax should only be implemented for cars operated by fuel.

Furthermore, bi-annual test should be made mandatory to all car users, except electric cars. Addition to that, a random check by police should be made to verify whether the actions are adequately followed by people. A huge financial punishment should be legalized against the people, who do not follow this laws.

In conclusion, the usage of cars should be curtailed by formalizing several actions such as financial burden and creating awareness on affects. By doing so, people should be encouraged to purchase emission free electric cars, which are comparatively less harmful.