These days it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the city Discuss some of the effects of the rural depopulation migration from the country to the city and suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed

Currently, there is a significant increase in the number of people who migrate from countryside to city. However, the shortage of population in the rural areas has serious implications on the rural areas itself. In the following essay, my opinion about the statement and viable solutions to the problem would be elaborated.

One of the negative influences of decrease in people in rural areas is the enlargement of the disparities between the city and the countryside. Human resources play an essential role in terms of the development of either the city or countryside. In the event that the people are of insufficient number, it is virtually impossible to facilitate the development of the area. Take Taiwan for example, there is a tremendous gap between the metropolis and the countryside in terms of the living standard and the development of the industry.

In order to remedy the situation of rural depopulation, it is necessary for the government to conduct practical strategies. As the primary reason for people migrating to the city is that the inadequate employment opportunities, the authorities should facilitate the development of rural areas by utilizing its local industry. In that case, it could probably boost the economic development and therefore, create more opportunities for people who are unemployed.

Apart from creating more working opportunities, well-developed infrastructures are of vitally importance. The imperfect public transportation and the unsatisfactory healthcare are the resistance of people returning to countryside. A feasible solution to this problem can be done by expanding the transportation network and popularizing the medical resources and healthcare.

By way of conclusion, though the trend of people migrating from the countryside to the city is irreversible, there are effective and practical ways to mitigate the unpalatable circumstances, nonetheless.