Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Compared to the last few decades, there has been a surge in the sales of some well-like goods. Some people think this is caused by the pervasive advertising campaigns either on TV or on streets. While I believe this is true, there are some other factors that have contributed to the ever-increasing sales of goods.

It is undeniable that widespread advertising campaign has greatly boosted the sales. Products presented in advertisements are often very appealing, with digital effects in videos or filters added to pictures, which stimulate viewers to buy them soon after seeing the advertisements without considering whether they really need them. For example, it is the eye-catching make-up advertisements on TV that entice loads of women to buy cosmetics such as Mac lipsticks even if they have got a collection of various colors on their dressing tables. Therefore, buying another new one lipstick with a quite similar color to old ones is purely an impulse purchase and they may rarely put it on in life. Further, as some advertisements spread an ideology that some positive attributes such as beauty, success or happiness can be attained only through material belongings, advertising may lead to consumerism. For example, if a female graduate was persuaded by the slogan in a piece of advertisement that having at least one Channel bag is the symbol of success, she would probably impulsively buy one even though it is such a luxury for her. This has caused a squandering of money because such goods are needless for those buyers and they become consumerism victims.

However, people have independent thinking and it is fairly unrealistic for everyone to be swayed by advertising and there are other factors associated with this issue. People may choose the goods that are either good quality or affordable to them, rather than relying on what advertisers say. For example, it is the user-friendly design and relatively low price that have lured a number of mobile phone users to switch from iphone to Huawei in China, even if people are exposed to pervasive advertisements of Apple products.

The above analysis suggests that although advertising campaigns have a huge power to increase sales, the majority would not simply depend on them to make purchase decisions.