Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is generally assumed that people’s lifestyle and spending habits are highly affected by various advertising tools. However, promotion campaigns may cause high sales and enormous profits for retailers, and even bring some benefits for consumers, it can be argued that these advertising tools impact the consumers much more than their real needs.

To begin, advertising does chase people on everyday base, and undoubtedly it has become a part of people’s lives. For example, advertising takes place on mobiles phones, on the TV, at the cinema, in the streets, in the subway and even in the restrooms of restaurants. Therefore, advertising is very hard to be escaped from and it may provoke a fake demand which can efficiently boost the great sales. Moreover, people are encouraged to buy the products and gadgets they do not really need or maybe even cannot afford. Unfortunately, people have strong beliefs that they will be much happier once they buy an advertised, very popular item.

Furthermore, children and young people are affected by advertising much more than adults. A sense of inferiority makes them adore the famous clothing brands or the latest models of mobile devices. While enormous pressure on parents makes them buy the unneeded goods again and again.

It is certainly true to say that advertising is being an engine of a successful trade today. Many consumer goods are sold in huge quantities despite that they are not on demand. In conclusion, many aspects of advertising do appear to have more influence on people in the future. That is why the trade business will be guided by advertising, and not by the real needs of consumers.