TOPIC: Many people believe that an effective public transport system is a key component of a modern city. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public transport. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write at least 250 words.

During recent decades, public transport has become more and more popular and is regarded as the face of an up-to-day city. I take the view that it has both benefits and drawbacks, which will be analysed in this essay.

The shortcomings of mass transport have been much discussed. To begin with, individual time-control is restricted. It is obvious that while private vehicles is always at their owner’s disposal, community transportation requires their passengers’ dependence on its appointed schedule, which is occasionally unable to meet their demand and cause some inconvenience in urgent cases. Moreover, due to the intense frequency of using, run-down quality and service is inevitable, which leads to uncomfortableness and insecurity. Therefore, it is necessary for authority to make a regular check and supply the guaranty when necessary.

Despite the disadvantage, transportation for community has its overwhelming advantages. Firstly, public transport is a cheap and safe choice. Many people having difficulty in affording and maintaining their own cars easily deal with the modest bus fare. Additionally, with the skillful and experienced driver, the journey becomes safe and sound as never before. Secondly, in the situation which global warning has been a burning issue, this alternative is one of the key solutions to reduce the amount of gas emissions and exhaust fumes. Last but not least, traffic problem is partly sorted out. It cannot be denied that the rising of mass transport play a significant role in improving traffic jam and minimize the number of accidents caused by personal transportation.

In conclusion, the above discussions show that public transport system has both pros and cons. Notwithstanding, it is my firm conviction that it is a major factor contributing the development of a city.