Is travel a necessary component of education? Will scholars sitting at home have more knowledge than the one who travels?

These days, it has become a growing trend to see scholars considering travel as an integral part of education. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the opinion that the former outdo the latter.

There are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that it enriches one’s experience by offering invaluable lessons about numerous facets of the world. Not only does it augment one’s knowledge about the outside world and the harsh reality it entails, but it also contributes to broadening one’s horizons. Needless to say, all these merits stand a learner in good stead, as far as attaining numerous skills required to successfully interact with society is concerned.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that sitting at home does not ensure one’s successful acquisition of education because studying at home from books can only increase one’s knowledge about certain subjects, but cannot serve the real purpose of education which is only possible through socialising with people from different cultures. It hardly needs mention that travelling will keep scholars in a preponderant position, when it comes to their psychological well-being.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the significance of travelling in learning is indeed too great to ignore.