Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, newspapers, television and radio programs are overrun by crimes. Indeed, people are hesitant to go out of their homes. A growing number of people believe that death penalty is necessary to curb a surge in crimes of violence. It is their view that people are stressed and anxious in absence of capital punishment. I completely agree with this idea. In this essay, i will support my opinion with relevant examples.

Undeniably, capital punishment is true deterrent to any criminals. Take hanging for an instance. In Saudi Arabia, hardcore criminals are hanged in public. People witness frequent unnecessary sufferings of criminals during the procedure. As a consequence, it creates a terrible intimidation among criminals. Therefore, the offenders will think thrice before they commit crimes.

In addition, people feel complete secure. Not only it generates a sense of relief but also it guarantees zero possibilities of escaping from the prison and re-offending. As a result, people feel comfortable and easy to go to work and walk even at late night.

Nevertheless, this type of punishment is often regarded as inhumane and ineffective. It demonstrates lack of respect for human beings. Moreover, it has never had a positive impact in society and has killed many people who have later been proved to be an innocent. Also, crime rate has soared significantly.

In a nutshell, although it is a common belief that death penalty is ruthless and unkind punishment, i believe it is worthwhile punishment as it discourages any type of criminals and of course, execution brings a peace in the society.