Write an essay about the advantages and disadvantages of consuming genetically enhanced food.

Today, genetically enhanced food are allowed to be sold to anybody in any grocery in American. However, should we consume this kind of food is a controversial topic. Some said yes because of its benefits; some disagree because it does harm to human and environment.

First, genetically enhanced food brings some benefits to human. According to Source 2, it increases the output, improved the nutritional content and provides enough food to the world’s grow population. Genetically enhanced crops are safe, resist disease better. Moreover, companies can manipulate seeds to withstand some of nature’s predators and uncontrollable weather patterns such as drought tolerance or monsoons.

In the other hand, genetically enhanced food also causes many risks. Source 2 concern that the rise in many diseases may be associated with GM foods. Also, one immediate health concern with eating genetically modified foods is allergens. In 2000, several people reported several allergic reactions because of eating modified food which contains a protein in animal feed. Moreover, scientists worry that farmers will increase the use of herbicides and poison due to most GMO seeds are engineered to be immune to herbicides and resistant to insect and disease.

In conclude, genetically enhanced foods aren’t safe but it still has many benefits. Choosing to eat or not depends on each body.