Because computers can translate all languages very quickly and accurately, learning a foreign language is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although technology had a rapid and vast development in recent years, it could not be an appropriate replacement for all human needs. There are several reasons why a group of people believe that learning foreign languages is still an essential need for everyone. Computers can easily handle lots of difficulties, but they are not perfect tools for communicative targets such as traveling, working, etc.

Firstly, learning a foreign language gives you the chance to find a decent job in an international company. For working in such places, where communicate with well-known companies all over the world, a computer translation wouldn't be beneficial since you should cope with others online or on the phone. In addition, in the working meetings you will miss the chance of sharing your ideas with others.

Secondly, computers' translations are not accurate enough. People of different cultures usually have some slang or idioms that are known among the people of that culture and they are not recognized by the machine easily. If someone uses the exact translation that is done by the computers, this will lead to some misunderstandings. Finally, Achievements of scientific researches support the fact that learning a new language can be beneficial for human's brain.

To sums up, people can use computer translations without spending time and money to learn the language but this cannot be beneficial in all situations. In order to communicate better, it is essential to be familiar with the language.