Being able to speak well is more important than being able to write well. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Use reasons and specific examples to support our answer.

Communication skills both speaking and writing is important in day to day life such as negotiation, writing an application, drafting a note and in so many other scenarios. Some people place more emphasis on orating skills rather than drafting as it is more frequently medium to exchange the words. I think that this notion is correct. I shall explain why I think that speaking is more valuable than writing.

Writing is widely used in various professions like academics, all kinds of businesses, consultancy etc. and professional who is expert in writing the books or letter or agreement etc. are given extra weightage at work place. It is generally believe that writing is an art and very few people know this art which does not require any kind of interaction for exchanging the ideas. Lots of writer use this art in the books and make people follow their writing. For instance, Salman rushide is acclaimed writer and people follow him from all over the world.

However, it is also true that writing is not essential for living in the society and speaking is default medium of communication. As a result, good speaker cast his influence on mass people and become icon in society, particularly leaders are known for their effective speaking and techniques to convince the people via speech. Furthermore, there are so many instances in both private and professional life where effective talking change opens so many opportunities. For example, my brother got job in sales and marketing and while interview, selectors were very impressed his style of speaking and convincing power.

To conclude, speaking is preferred mode of communication and people love to hear from effective speaker, whereas writing is used in specific cases mostly in formal communication and rarely used in day to day general communication.