In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experiences

The rapid increase in ageing population in recent years has placed more importance on elderly homes around the cities of Britain. There are many privately owned homes as well as state sponsored homes. In my personal view, these centres should be financially supported by the government.

Firstly, the majority of the elders go in search of homes for elders, mainly due to the disputes with their family members. As a result, the family members of these elders will not support financially for their day to day living. Due to this, government should take initiativies to financially support these elders.

Secondly, the elders are the senior citizens of this country. Their tax income has been invested for the country's development so far. Hence, the return from those investments should be rewarded the to the elders, who have contributed towards major portion of tax income.

Thirdly, the financial situation of their family will also restrict allocation towards medical and well being of older member of that family. Especially, the medical care, hospitalisation and drugs are highly expensive today. Only the families with high living standards could afford this.

In summary, the older generation of the country should be financially supported by the government. This is mainly, due to respective family's wealth position may differ, pay back their tax contribution and personal family disputes may push them to be alone. Moreover, state sponsored centres will help the country to improve the living standards of their citizens