Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.How true do you think this statement is?What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Traffic jams have become quite common and well-known in many cities around the world due to the emergence of automobile owners over the past 30 years. I strongly believe that more the cars will run on the road, more the chaos and congestion will be on the road. The government can demotivate people to use their cars by running odd and even policy or encourage people to take public transport in lieu of tax benefits.

Firstly, Imagine How our life would look like and what would it be without cars? No chaos, no sound of horn and no pollution on roads. Cars have become inevitably integral part of our economy and due to it's availability in all forms of sizes meant to meet needs for every section of the society, traffic jams are bound to happen. For example, in Toronto it takes about on an average 25 minutes to cross the red light signal which is actually less than one mile. Furthermore, it become completely difficult for a person to even walk on pedestrian because of no space left by motorcycles.

However, Government can restrict people to not use their cars by running an odd and even policy campaign. For instance, if it is 3rd day of the month, then only odd number cars will run on the road which left with limited options like car pooling etc. Secondly, government can roll out tax saving benefits for people which will encourage them to travel via public transport. This policy can be based on the minimum amount of money one person should spend to avail tax gains and on top of this, government would be successful in their efforts to reduce the number of cars on the road.

To conclude, I firmly believe that traffic congestion has increased due to the increased number of cars on the road but the government can decrease numbers by implementing odd and even policy or tax saving schemes.