Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For last one decade, more and more people are traveling in groups to countries for reasons such as pilgrimage, excursion, see monuments etc… resulting, demand of tour guide also has increased in multifold. Some people believe that tour guide should be essential part of tour planning where as others do not see much value addition of these. I believe that tour guide provides the insight information regarding places and make sure everyone involved in activities.

People who do not see guide as must have members in tour activities have some valid reason. Firstly, tour guides in some countries are not regulated and their skill level to interact with group or individual is found abysmally low. As a result, visitors do not understand the stories about the cities, historical places etc. For example, tour guide profession is not respectable in India and no government body has control on these people so in most of places, unemployed youth with no or less education become tour guide. Secondly, it has also been observed that some tour guides are involved in cheating, theft and other unlawful activities and most of the victims are foreigners who come to visit the country, particularly individual travel are badly affected and sometimes they get killed as well.

However, there is no denial that tour guide have most basic information about the local environment and add different flavors in travelling. Tour guide are generally the local people who are born and brought-up at that place which not only have the key facts about the places which are available on internet also but also the special knowledge about the place or culture. For instance, one of the seven wonders “Taj Mahal” story is in books and internet but additionally I was told the key insight such as timing of death and people present at that time. Furthermore, guide also protects the foreign people from local dangers.

To conclude, traveling in a group works as shield from local threats exists in countries and people manage to solve these problems by helping each other. Beside this, tour guide may be helpful for key insight and provide native information about the places.