Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities .

To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Because of the growth of the number of supermarkets and the small shops' weakness in the competition, people consider that the result of the small shops' disappearing would negatively affect the local societies. In my opinion, I agree with the view that local communities experienced a large, distant between their people, but shopping in supermarkets has many advantages which worth it.

First of all, discuss the advantages of the supermarket which lead people to shop in hypermarkets rather than local small shops. Firstly, gathering all categories of basic needs equipment in one place, make it easier for people to meet all their needs in one place; what is more, instead of moving around the city to find the various types of tools, they could find everything in center malls or supermarket which is located in the center of the city or outskirts. Therefore it is more convenient for people searching their whole requirement at the same time in one place and not waste their time on going from one shop to another.

However, I agree that supermarket caused the distance between people and the neighbours hardly ever visiting each other while shopping. It means the community is going to be disappearing. Surely it has negative impacts on societies and communication; nevertheless, other places could be replaced rather than shops such as institutes, gyms, schools which are an appropriate place for people connecting and helpful communications.

In conclusion, although the supermarkets have many merits for shoppers, it leads the local community to be dead due to the fact that the number of supermarkets grows increasingly and the citizens prefer shopping in hypermarkets than the local shops.