Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Other disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern society, a job interview is arguably one of the most essential process for employers to assess job seekers’ capacity before providing them with a certain position. However, numerous employers have a tendency to obtain personal information from job applicants. Some people believe that such information may be important and valuable while others think personal information is irrelevant to the occupation. The following paragraphs will discuss both views and my own perception.

It is reasonable to believe that personal details could be useful in several cases. First of all, providing employers with personal information, such as hobbies, interests and marital status, enables colleagues to promote their understanding of candidates’ values and innate characteristics. For instance, in terms of interests or hobbies, managers can infer a candidate’s personality type such as an introvert who is unsociable but reflective or an extrovert who is sociable but sometimes impetuous; therefore, managers can allocate a suitable post to an applicant based on the category. In addition, managers can also divide those who share the same values or enthusiasms into the same working group, since those like-minded colleagues can get on and cooperate closely with each other within the group, thereby working effectively and efficiently.

On the other hand, it is also argued that personal information is irrelevant and unworthy of serious attention. Firstly, personal information plays no role in assessing a candidate’s job capacity and cannot be used to determine whether this candidate could bring tangible benefits to the company in future. Furthermore, job applicants might feel uncomfortable and anxious when being requested for information about their marriage, as such questions are viewed as the disrespect towards their privacy or boundary; as a consequence, an increasing number of job seekers will be unlikely to apply for a job at your company, thereby resulting in lack of labours.

In my opinion, it is worth mentioning that requesting for personal information enables employers to familiarize with candidates further, which could also help mangers distribute an appropriate position to the applicant. In the light of such fact, I support the view that it is worth obtaining personal information from job seekers.