Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The number of languages on the planet has been decreasing for several decades and nowadays the process is speeding up. Many claim that the trend is harmless and the humankind will benefit on the long-run from it. I partly agree with the prospect and the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, there are those who aver that the decline in the number of tongues will make life easier. The more people would be speaking the same language, the fewer problems with understanding each other would they face. To illustrate, if the mankind had been speaking only one language, artists, scientists, other people would have been able to exchange ideas without barriers. In this case, people would likely live in a world with fewer wars, less poverty and absence of terrorism. Thus, the trend may be useful for the humankind.

Secondly, the language extinction is not important because it signals about spreading of globalization that may be seen as a next step in the human race development. For instance, needless to say that advancement of contemporary technology has made the inhabitants of the planet more connected and intertwined with one another than ever before. For example, any person with access to the internet is able to converse with individuals who live on other continents and interacting is more convenient if both interlocutors use the same language. Thus, there is an objective necessity to understand each other and rare tongues that aren’t widespread are less valuable and thus, they will eventually become extinct. In other words, declining of languages spoken is natural process.

To sum up, there is no doubt that many languages will have died out by the middle of the XXI century. This trend appears to be a part of an evolution of the humanity that will eventually make life better.