A growing number of people work by telecommuting, that is, the employee works from home, using a computer and the Internet to connect with the office.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of working this way?

Working from home is more and more accepted because of its benefits such as cost reduction or the convenience of working location. It, however, also causes some difficulties for organisations since they are not able to manage their staff effectively.

The benefit that we may easily see that employers can save expenses on operating their company. Firstly, they have no need to rent a large office which costs a lot of money. Instead, they can hire a smaller one which is more economic for them. Secondly, less equipment such as tables, chairs, computers and stationary are required, and this does not only help a company save on buying things but also periodical maintenance costs. Lastly, because there are not many employees in the office, the administrative staff are obviously unnecessary or just a few of them are needed, so employers can also save more on hiring these staff.

Some people think teleworking makes the staff management become more difficult. It may be true because managers would have no idea what their workers are doing. Furthermore, employees tend to be lazy if there is a lack of supervision from managers, which usually results in poor work productivity later on. Another issue is that working this way makes it inconvenient to organise a staff meeting due to various locations of employees or technical problem. For example, when an online meeting is held on Skype, the participants may experience a poor quality of Internet connection which affects to the meeting result or even causes the cancellation of the meeting.

In conclusion, apart from the advantages about costs that telecommuting can offer for organisations, some drawbacks related to the staff management should also be considered.