It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Undoubtedly, Understanding the analogy between good and bad things are of significant importance in the child’ early stage of life. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, although arguments can also be made against the idea. In this essay, the debate will be discussed, and will be given a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support the idea of penalty to children cite various benefits, it can bring to the children. Firstly, it can facilitate children to become fully-aware of the consequences which, it can bring to them, especially to the young children only if found indulged in unethical activities and immoral behaviour. Secondly, it helps to produce a radical change in the thinking power of the children by making them more disciplined and well-behaved. In addition to this, it can also enhance and improve their overall academic life. For instance, a study made by the IMF shows that 50% of the children who are disciplined achieve great success and better job as compared to the ones who are not.

On the other hand, opponents point out their view that often punishment produce negative effects on the children which can lead to the aggressive behaviour in the children. Furthermore, child becomes more reluctant and short-tempered because of the circumstances which they perceive hostile to them. Secondly, If the punishments were not done in a well-behaved and controlled environment, it can damage the relationship between guardians or teacher and children.

Overall, it seems reasonable to me that if penalty would be carried out under the supervision of either parents or teacher than it can help the children to understand the dissimilarity between good and bad activities.