It seems clear that obesity in today's society is to some extent due to the availability of fast food. Should governments place a tax on fast food to reduce the amount of fast food consumed?

Easy availability of junk food has increased the number of couch potatoes in many countries. Obesity has become a serious health concern for almost entire world wherein levying taxes on fast food is counted as a highly effective measure for the prevailing problem.However, I believe there are many other effective measures can be taken in order to curb the trend and to grow healthy society.

To begin with, fast foods are consumed by affluent class who never cares about the cost of the food. For example, visiting Mcdonald or Pizza Hut has become a status symbol nowadays. Needless to say, increase in taxes on this food will have a trivial effect on the consumption rate by the wealthy families. Moreover, there is another class of people like students and professionals, who are living away from their home and family, are eating this food due to its cheaper cost and easy access. Increase in the price of a handy food due to extra taxes may disturb their budget but not the consumption rate.

Conversely, Taking fewer effective measures in creating awareness about the chronical detrimental effects of fast food on the health can bear the fruits. To exemplify, driving an awareness camp in schools and colleges for guiding parents and students together about the consequences of unhealthy foods and suggesting healthy eating habits etc can serve the purpose. Finally, supplying subsidized and hygienic traditional food to the students and officials by institutions and organizations respectively can help in reversing the trend.

To sum up, fast food has been declared as a visible culprit behind an epidemic of obesity among citizens which can be obsolete only through supplying education and cultivating of healthy eating habits.