In many countries school children spend a lot of their free time doing homework. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I am sure, as a student we all used to hate doing homework. But is homework good for school children or is it simply a waste of time? Many children today spend a lot of their free time doing homework. Retrospectively, I believe that homework has done good to me and is beneficial to all students. Let us discuss the benefits of it for schoolchildren.

There are several direct advantages to homework, if it is given in the correct amounts and at the right time. First of all, students get to practice the new material learned in school – via homework. Secondly, homework helps the teacher to know what the students have or have not learned. The teacher can then change the next lessons to match. A third point is that homework can involve parents in the education of the child and observe the child’s progress.

Additionally, I believe that homework also teaches four important life-skills to a student :

Responsibility — When students assume responsibility for their homework and complete an assignment, it is only then that they learn to be accountable for their actions.

Time management — Homework teaches a student about time management skills. So in my opinion homework then does not waste time; it is part of managing it.

Independence – With homework students learn to work on their own. Learning to solve problems without a teachers support brings in a sense of independence and pride.

Self-esteem. — Completing homework in a timely manner helps a student develop trust and self-confidence. The inspiration to work harder on the next project occurs when kids feel good about their accomplishments.

Homework also helps keep all students at the same level. I would like to share my own experience of when I was a student. I was bit slow in mathematics. My teacher smartly used to assign me homework which was a continuation of our classwork. This homework gave me a chance to catch up to the rest of the class and be at par. If this was not done, I would have lagged behind and eventually lost all my interest and inclination towards mathematics.

On the other side, it is important to balance the quantum of homework assigned. As it is rightly said - All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. Too much of homework can stress out a student. It is important that students are left with some free time where they can indulge in sports and other areas of interest.

To conclude, homework definitely has merits, but only a right balance between free time and homework can provide a happy and successful school experience to the student.