Many people believe that living in a country is the best way to learn a foreign language. However, some experts believe that it is better to learn a foreign language through formal courses. Discuss bothe views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, learning an alien language is gradually becoming increasingly crucial for individual development, attributable to the rapid globalisation. It is commonly believed that residing in a country is arguably the optimum approach to learn a foreign language. However, other educationalists oppose this opinion. The following paragraphs will discuss the view and my perception.

It is reasonable to believe that living in another country contributes to efficiently enhancing the proficiency of a particular language. First of all, it provides learners with an appropriate environment to study the alien language. For instance, they are able to drastically improve their speaking skills by interacting with various native speakers. In addition, living in a foreign country enables you to promote the comprehensive understanding of the foreign language, including a series of slang and idioms that may not be involved in academic language studies.

On the other hand, some experts argue that formal language curriculum plays a more important role in learning a new language. Firstly, academic language courses allow students to obtain the knowledge about the painstaking grammar rules of a foreign language, which helps them develop professional writing skills. As an illustration, international students who study in English speaking countries must have a good command of grammar to complete their research essay. Secondly, numerous international students may not develop their language skills dramatically, as they have difficulty integrating themselves into the local community, because of cultural gap.

To conclude with my opinion, it is unquestionable that learners can enhance their foreign language skills by studying overseas. However, learning a new language through formal courses is more suitable for students to extend their knowledge about grammar rules.