Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technology has improved by the pass of the years and there are people who think there is no need to communicate through letters anymore. However, I would argue about this thought because I strongly believe modern communications have actually helped us to contact others easily and to write letters without needing a physical piece of paper.

Nowadays, communications have been easier because the variety of electronic gadgets and appliances which allow people to be in contact with others in no matter of time. Thanks to internet access communications are easier and faster than they were years ago. For instance, family members or friends can contact at any time even if they do not live on the same country, because of the modern communications offers that enable people to write messages or letters through applications like Word, Gmail, Hotmail, and others which also help the writer to have a correct writing, free of errors thank to the benefits of technology.

In addition, the lastest communications advances can do that people write letters while there is not a physical piece of paper available. No needing a sheet to write to someone, without having to use pencil or pen is another advantage of modernity, which allow us to contact with others. In international business or study issues, for example, it is really useful to write a letter through electronic devices that help enquires or important information to be sent overseas and still communicate in a formal manner.

To conclude, although there are modern ways to communicate with others around the world, there is known that letters are still important to write because they enable us to get the information we need, and technology has had a great development that can be used to help us write.