People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In a modern society, as a consequence of globalization, an increasing number of people have tendency to travel overseas or emigrate to a new country. However, it is argued that foreigners ought to adapt to the local traditions and customs. The following paragraphs are going to discuss this view and my own perception.

It is reasonable to believe that every foreigner is supposed to respect the culture of local residents. In the first place, following native traditions and customs plays an important role in bridging the cultural gap between newcomers and local people as well as promoting newcomers’ understanding of the code of conduct of that nation, so travellers or immigrants may find it easy to integrate themselves into this new community. In addition, immigrants will be confronted with a variety of problems such as being treated unfairly or excluded by the nation’s citizens if they cannot conform to a new country’s social norms and this could severely intensify the conflict between foreigners and indigenous residents as well.

On the other hand, it is also worth mentioning that newcomers should not always follow other people’s traditions. Firstly, most foreigners have their own traditions and cultures. Blindly following other customs or behaviour could shake a person’s faith on their own long-standing religions, which may become the culprit of the loss of cultural diversity. Furthermore, the host country should also accept cultural differences to emphasise social equity and justice rather than expect those tourists or immigrants to completely assimilate into an alien culture, since it contributes to social cohesion and stability. Australia, for instance, as a melting pot of cultures, shows great esteem for immigrants from diverse cultural backgrounds and most people have a comfortable social life in this country.

To sum up with my opinion, I agree with this view in some way since immigrants ought to comply with the rules of the host country. However, we cannot lose faith and belief on our own religions when following other customs and traditions.