Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Generally people adopt different passion and liking over a period of time. For some people this variation is not due to individual choices but merely impression of new lifestyle. To a certain extent, i would agree with the statement , but there are some new activities people follow because they like it.

On the one hand, people changes their area of interest due to recent trends in their surroundings They want to keep themselves up to date and want to get an attention from others with their novel activities. For example , Some people start showing interest in things like hiking , sky diving , tracking so as to show they are tough people.

On the other hand ,people may choose new activities as they haven't tried or think of it before. These activities are might be in the trend but they are following only due to their inclination towards it.

In conclusion, though it is a fact that person change his hobbies and passions over a time but its not necessary due to the recent fashions, it may be the new options available with him as encouraged him to try new things.