Some people believe that crime is a result of social problems and poverty, others think that crime is a result of bad person’s nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that people who grow up in poverty or go through social problems are likely to commit a crime, while the opponents of this idea think that a result of crime stems from bad nature. In my opinion, it seems to me that crime is the product of deep psychological wounds relating to social conditions.

On the one hand, there is a belief that a person’s nature determines whether or not become a criminal . Firstly, some argue that an individual who is cruel turns to crime more easily than a kind person. For instance, a child bullying other boys or girls at school may turn into a violent criminal in the future. Secondly, bad characteristics such as laziness or selfishness could also breed future offenders, who seek to acquire easy money without working for it. A number of youngsters choose to steal from others, instead of working hard to make an honest living. There are strong reasons for thinking that those who have an inborn bad nature are more likely to break the law.

On the other hand, it seems to me that it is believed that the community should take responsibility for making crime. One reason is that there are many problems in society which might lead to an increase in the crime rate. For example, unemployment pushes people into resorting to crime because they simply cannot find a job. As a consequence, the number of offenders has climbed in many countries over recent decades. Another reason is that, more broadly, poverty in general leads to a rise in crime. If people do not have enough money to make ends meet, they will be tempted to pursue illegal activities just to support themselves and their families.

In conclusion, although both view have some validity, it seems to me that the principal causes of crime are a result of social conditions and problems.