Some people believe that schools should only teach children subjects which are beneficial for their future career and therefore other subjects such as music and sports are not important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Countries in different corners of the world vary from each other in terms of their own education systems and their concentration on specific fields in education the young generation. In lots of areas, people strongly believe that children should only be taught academic disciplines which are beneficial for them in the future and thus, other subjects such as sports and music are underestimated. Personally, while I agree that academic and professional subjects are the top priority for a student, I would say that music and sports are also extremely beneficial and should continue to be incorporated at schools.

On the one hand, there is a variety of reason why learning subjects that guarantee a successful future career are pivotal in the field of education. First, those subjects equip learners with higher-level qualifications and boost their work performance, which is what most employers expect these days. Math sharpens calculation ability and logical thinking while liberal arts subjects like literature assist in users’ fluency in communication, and all these prove essential qualities in the future work place. Furthermore, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive as hundreds of applicants often chase the top jobs and expertise related to one’s field of specialization remains the key element to success. For example, in Vietnam, students who graduated with an engineering degree are highly paid and have an easy time pursuing a good job rather than music teachers of athletes.

On the other hand, I would argue that the value of subjects such as music and sports should be not underestimated. Firstly, these subjects can help children develop physically and mentally. In fact, sports can help students boost their strength and flexibility while music can be considered as a way to improve the spiritual life of learners. Secondly, children differ from each other in their own expectations and individual talents, therefore, ignoring teaching sports and music at school can dampen student’s enthusiasm. For instance, going to school to learn only science or social subjects like math or history can gradually tedious for students who are talented at music or sports and expect to become artists or athletes in the future.

As discussed, apart from teaching intellectual disciplines, no one can deny the significance of other subjects such as music or sports because of their benefits for students’ comprehensive development.