Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

Sport continues to be a controversial topic in the school curriculum, just as sport itself has become a controversial industry in some respects. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will consider now.

On the one hand, some people feel that sport uses up time which could be better spent on

academic subjects such as exam preparation. In addition, it might be said that it is unwise to force

children to do activities which they have no interest in. After all, some youngsters are just not sporty,

and should be allowed to study instead. Finally, there are question marks over the wholesomeness of

sport itself, with drugging and corruption scandals increasingly common, as we see in cycling at

present. Some people believe that this lack of morals sets a poor example to young people.

On the other hand, though, one major benefit of sport is that it helps children’s physical

development at an important stage. If all their time was spent studying, they would become unfit and

their minds would eventually suffer. Furthermore, supporters of school sport emphasize the

importance of team building in sports such as football or hockey, which is often felt to be an excellent

preparation for adulthood. Finally, many people feel that a competitive spirit, so important today, is

fostered by sports at an early age. It is notable, for example, that many successful business people

excelled in sport at school.

Overall, I feel that sport should be compulsory for school children, because the positive effect

on their mental and physical development outweighs the negatives. This is as long as children are

given a wide range to choose from, to ensure their interest is high, and that the sports industry itself

maintains the highest standards of conduct.