Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The wide range of punishments for various crimes has always posed a heated controversy as whether to attribute certain punishments for certain crimes or decide the type of punishment per case.

Regarding the unique nature and life condition of each and every man, this can leave the judges and the justice systems with a heavy burden on their shoulders. I, personally believe that there must be a framework to refer to, while the frame cannot be too strict as to reject any possibility out of it.

Each nation and civilization has long strived to provide their citizens with a justice system to react to crimes in order to give society the benefit of peace and order. Numerous laws and legislations passed by expert law makers aim at preventing chaos and subjectivism in a justice system. “An eye for an eye” reflects the time-honored attitude towards clarity of punishments which seems a comfort to many victims as well as leading to a lower chance of getting away with a wrongdoing.

Human nature, however, tends to defy any strict frameworks as well as generalizations. Hundreds of crimes are committed on daily basis facing judges and juries with inevitable dilemmas to reach a verdict. In regards to punishments. Hardly has it always been easy for a judge to come up with a verdict which is certain and free from doubts. Shooting a drunk driver who has run down your innocent six-year old daughter at a moment of crisis cannot be easy to judge. Bending laws seems unavoidable at certain times to mitigate the agonies of the victims in certain cases. Sticking to the unchangeable rules, thus, would definitely sound either insane or unimaginably cruel.

Considering the above facts and the tremendous challenges of making a just decision on punishments and hence people’s lives, it’s only rational to have the fairest possible law system which is open to bending at times only by the most trusted and just experts in order to bring order and comfort to a society simultaneously.