Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills,

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It sometimes argued that education, from elementary schools to colleges, tend to be more focused on the improvement of their students` knowledge than on the practice of other abilities that they will require in order to thrive in the working life. This essay agrees to a certain extent that practical abilities are essential to be successful at work. This essay will first discuss how much theoretical lessons are given now in comparison to practical ones, secondly show that practical activities provide us with some abilities that are really valued in the professional path, followed by a reasoned conclusion.

Few people would contest that nowadays too much time is dedicated to theory. If we look at the syllabus of whatever course, we will notice that more than 80% of the time is employed to give lectures whilst only 20% is used to develop practical skills. It comes without doubt that knowledge is really necessary to climb the career ladder but without soft skills it would be almost impossible to get a decision-making job.

Practical lessons, such as workshops or apprenticeships, could provide us with some useful abilities. Education should promote creativity and innovation, unleash imagination or foster interpersonal-skills. Not only must people know what to say, but they also should know how to say it. For instance, some of the most thriving entrepreneurs of the 21th century, like Steve Jobs or Mark Zuckerberg which are the founders of Apple and Facebook respectively, did not even finish their tertiary education, but due to the fact they had enough knowledge and impressive soft skills, they flourish to convince people about what they were saying and their firms enjoyed an overnight success.

In conclusion, it is my firm belief that practical skills play a key role in our development owing to the fact that we will always deal with people but we should also continue being concerned about enlarge our knowledge to gain confidence with a view to finding a worthwhile job.