Some people say that television is useful for education, while other say it is useful only for entertainment.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals consider television as a source of entertainment and fun only, whereas other believe that this device can also be used to educate people. However I think television can be utilized to develop educational skills of pupils and for entertainment purpose as well.

People who consider that television is solely a source of amusement believe that it was specifically made for leisure activities. Moreover, its major purpose is to watch movies, drama and shows. They think that its use for educating people is limited as news channels, talk shows and documentaries are the only thing which could be informative. Furthermore, its use for learning purpose could be abusive because students might lose focus while watching television, especially juvenile are more inclined towards interesting things such as movies and dramas rather than teaching or informative material. Additionally, with flood of information on television and mass media it would be challenging to identify true and reliable data.

Nevertheless, use of television for education cannot be overlooked. People who favoring this statement consider that visual aids are helpful in developing skills, abilities and understanding of individuals. In addition to that educational documentaries and shows could improve learning methods. Moreover, students who suffers from cognitive disorders and mental disabilities could seek help from visuals to overcome these issues.

In my opinion television is a favorite pass time around the globe. It not only entertains people but provides useful information in no time. People can use it for amusement purpose and to gain knowledge through news and other TV shows. Its use in field of education has proven to be vital for many decades and it has helped in grooming and learning of many students around the world.

To sum up, TV is main source of entertainment as well as education. Yet its abuses mainly during learning purposes must not be ignored.