Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Despite the fact that the art has been an imperative part of the human civilization, some believe that introducing art related subjects in school curriculum is not worthy and academic subjects are more important. Although, others believe these subjects are vital due to its contribution towards the development of the mankind throughout the history.

There is a belief that academic subjects like science, technology, history and mathematics are more important subjects to learn for two main reasons. The first point to make is that in this era of modernization and automation, it is quiet necessary for pupils to be upgraded with the knowledge of the latest technology and research. For instance, if you are not a computer literate, you cannot cope up with the today’s contemporary lifestyle. Secondly, for the job prospects, these subjects are far more appealing than other co-curricular subjects. For example, any employer would select the candidate having computer and current affairs related knowledge than the one who can create a nice painting. Thus, to keep pace with these advancements, these core subjects are more significant.

Nevertheless, it seems to me that traditional subjects like paintings, music and dancing are equally important for overall development of the child. Firstly, in these subjects, they can learn about not only the culture and the civilization but also the preservation of the heritage. For example, if they know how to read the musical notations, they could learn about the historical culture through the songs written by musicians. Secondly, some researchers have proved some artistic skills can become the great aid to cure mental and physical diseases. For instance, it has been proved that music therapy is well known for healing some maladies. Thus, arts related subjects are crucial to flourish individual skills.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, I believe that arts related subject should be vital and compulsory in primary schooling and could be made optional at secondary or tertiary education.