Some people think art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Discuss both the sides and give your opinion.

Since the dawn of humanity, art has been an integral aspect of human life. But, in the recent years, if fine-art should be a part of school curriculum or not, has become a moot point. This essay will discuss both the arguments before arriving at a reasoned conclusion.

Learning art is conceived by a section of our society as a futile one because; it does not provide solid job guarantee or a regular income. For instance, innumerable talented artists were recognized only posthumously and also, a painter has to wait till his creation is sold out to make money out of it. Furthermore, the prominence of art-work has reduced nowadays because; it is viewed as form of entertainment, rather than as a facet of our culture and, as a consequence artists do not gain a higher social status. Hence, they find spending time in studying arts unproductive.

Contrarily, we have to bear in mind that fine-art has been instrumental in de-stressing our mind and assists us in feeling refreshed. Therefore, teaching school-goers some form of art gives them a break from hectic syllabus. Moreover, pupils are multifaceted and while few may be proficient in regular program of studies, others may be talented in extra-curricular activities. For that reason, we have to encourage every type of individuality among students. Not to mention that, art is a primal human behavior because; it is existent throughout the world, across all cultures. Thus, it is a part of who we are and we cannot shun the students the privileged of experiencing the bliss.

Concisely, familiarizing students with artwork, which is an innate element of us, provides them a relaxation and brings their hidden talent into the limelight.