Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Should government spend money on arts has always been a contentious subject matter. While a few people conceive it worthless to spend money on fine-arts and that the fund should be invested in other direr issues in the society, I believe that art has its own significance and deserves our attention like any other facet of our life. This essay will discuss three paramount arguments supporting this view.

First and foremost, an artistic creation serves as a fountain of recreation and inspiration for people who are worn out because of daily routine. For instance, listening to a melodious song or admiring the intricacies of an aesthetic painting will undoubtedly make us feel de-stressed. Therefore, art washes the daily dust off our souls.

Over and above, every art-piece has a conviction associated with it and they propagate the artist’s faith through various generations. For example, the Monas in Jakarta was built to commemorate the Indonesian independence struggle and also, it describes the complete history of the country through reliefs engraved over the monument. Hence, they function as the messengers of the past to the present and future world.

On top of everything, artwork is the mirror of our society because; it calls attention to the drawbacks of our community and guides us in the correct path when we go astray. For this purpose, any modern day cartoon in the newspapers, which play an instrumental role in bringing the evils of our society into the limelight, can be taken as a proof. Thus, work of art is mandatory in modelling our society in the perfect way.

Briefly, art plays a key role in providing a break from our monotonous lifestyle and exists as a testament to our beliefs. Furthermore, they also direct us in the right path and aid us grow into a flawless society. For these reasons, funding art will never go in vain.