Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The question about taking a break after leaving a school has been widely discussed in recent years. Some people believe that baccalaureates should travel or get labour experience, before they entry the university or college, but other people claim than this time-out has negative aspects. There are arguments on both sides, however, which we will discuss here.

It is unquestionable that the majority of the students after finishing the high school yearn to know the world, learn new languages, visit interesting places and especially to have an independence of their parents. For example, in my personal experience, when I graduated from high school, I travel around the world, and that gave me a lot of experience, for instance, it was the first time I learned to cook, laundry my own clothes, and the most relevant, I learned to solve my own problems. Based on that experience when I entry the university I felt with more confidence and it was easier to manage my life.

On the other hand, making a long recess after high school can be harmful, in particular, the habit of study may be lost and some study skills may be lost and over time you may lose interest in studying. Secondly, entering the university immediately has some benefits, in addiction because students have fresh knowledge, have a routine study and most significant, they can complete a degree yet being very young. Nonetheless, they are still very immature and there is a chance they do not know what they want, therefore address potential problems daily life will be more difficult for them.

As we have seen, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, while there are strong arguments on both sides, the advantages of taking a break before to go to study at university overweight the disadvantages. In line with the above, I completely agree with the statement that students should travel or get a short labour experience.