Some people think that the only way to judge someone’s success in business is by the amount of money they make.

Is money a true indicator of the success of a business?

In what other ways could success in a business be measured?

There are many ways in which success of a businessman is measured. Most famous and traditional one is the amount of liquid business earn. This measure is the most important for success but, it would be an overstatement to say it is the only one. In following paragraphs I would highlight all the measures by which worthiness of the trade can be calculated.

To begin with, the profit the person earns is considered as the prime gauge to determine the success of the business he or she owns. Money can be seen as the blood of the business and cash flow defines the trend it follows. The primary goal of any business is to make money and increase the dividend. However, it cannot be the sole aim of the business. Take examples of the two companies started at the same time, the first firm earned three billion dollars in a year and then went bankrupt and second one earned one billion for three years and still possesses large customers in the market. In this scenario, it is not reasonable to believe the ruined one the more successful. Thus, profit or revenue cannot be considered as a solitary way to gauge the prosperity of the tycoon.

To decide the position of the entrepreneur, only profit and loss statement does not matter, there are many other aspects required to deem. Firstly, customer satisfaction is necessary for any product to create its place in the market. An unsatisfied customer can negate the promotion by many satisfied and can adversely affect the market value. Secondly, the size of the consumer base defines the quality of the product or service which makes a customer loyal and regular. Thirdly, any firm has social responsibilities which define the affluence of the trader. How firmly the company carries these corporate responsibilities are reviewed by the community to define its success. For instance, a successful merchant would ensure that his merchandise does not harm the environment or the habitat of the planet. Finally, credits of the venture indicate that it pays the debt on time and investors are highly content with the return they receive. This impression on the stakeholders also shows that businessperson has been successful to create a respectable space in the market.

To sum up, a surplus in money after paying all the bills, debts, respectable wages etcetera, point out the victory, but this net profit alone is not sufficient to benchmark the state of the entrepreneur. Other prospects like the size of the customer base, number of economic responsibilities taken and creditability of the conglomerate defines the success of the dealer.