In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

In the recent days, we can notice that the involvement of youngsters in crime has increased considerably. Due to this, a section of our society conceives that those teenagers should be tried as adults. However, in my opinion the way we handle juvenile and adults in crime should be different. This essay will discuss two paramount reasons supporting this view.

First and foremost, a crime is committed only when there a criminal act along with a criminal intent occurs. But, youngsters neither have a vivid intent for their actions nor a clear understanding of the consequences of their doings. Furthermore, many adolescents lack the cognitive ability to plan and execute a harmful activity. Consequently, most of the incidents are due to peer pressure and impulsive reaction rather than a planned lawbreaking. Hence, it is inappropriate to try a teenager in court as an adult.

In conjunction with the above justification, youth have more room for rehabilitation compared to grown-ups. Since it is likely that they don’t comprehend the aftermath of their conduct, they stand a higher chance in realizing their wrongdoing and mend their ways. Additionally, apprehending them along with adults, will not only turn them into hardened criminals, but also does not achieve the goal of abating crime in the society. For these reasons, the trial and punishment for juvenile and adult should be separate.

In a nutshell, since, the comprehension of a teenager is lower than an adult and, as they are more probable to rectify their blunders; the sentence imposed on them should also vary accordingly.