Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree with these views?

In the contemporary world, adverts play a crucial role as a practical instrument to inform all customers of information about incoming products. However, a number of sales of merchandise merely illustrate the role of advertising instead of whether those goods fulfil the real needs of the society. I agree with the view in some circumstances.

It is reasonable to believe that the high sales of goods are attributable to the overwhelming power of various commercials. Generally, to promote products, most companies have a tendency to provide customers with an exaggerated account of the commodities’ quality, which can seduce a growing number of people into purchasing those unnecessary items. For instance, many people are likely to buy a MacBook Pro which is prohibitively expensive but unable to meet the requirements of most gamers. This is because customers are misled by the claims of adverts.

On the other hand, some people also argue that a myriad of sales can represent the needs of modern society. A variety of goods, including daily necessities, which are not universally merchandised using a series of adverts are still sold out quickly. As an illustration, dairy products are tremendously in a demand since such products have great implications for individuals’ growing process.

To conclude with my opinion, it is worth mentioning that the high sales of particular goods are due to the fact that adverts gives an exaggerated description of the products’ quality and popularity. However, other essential items people tend to stock up on still can reflect the needs of society.