Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree with these views?

In the contemporary world, adverts play a crucial role as a practical instrument to inform all customers of the information about incoming products. However, it is commonly believed that a myriad of sales of different commodities illustrate the role of advertising instead of whether those goods fulfil the real needs of our society. I agree with the view in some circumstances.

It is reasonable to believe that the high sales of goods are attributable to the overwhelming power of various commercials. In general, to promote products, most companies have a tendency to provide customers with an exaggerated account of the quality of products, and this can seduce numerous shoppers into impetuously purchasing a series of goods they actually do not need, including luxury items, electronic devices, and some other objects. For instance, in some periods, people are likely to stock up on carbonated beverages to take advantage of the advertised special offer, and such products involve some chemical substances, such as added preservatives, which even have detrimental impacts on their health.

On the other hand, some people also argue that a number of sales can represent the needs of modern society. A variety of goods, including daily necessities that are not universally merchandised using a series of adverts, still can be sold out immediately. As an illustration, dairy and healthcare products will always be in high demand even if they are not promoted by adverts since such products have implications for individuals’ growing process and health maintenance.

To conclude with my opinion, the high sales of particular goods are attributable to the fact that adverts give an exaggerated description of the products’ quality and popularity. However, other essential items people tend to stock up on still can reflect the needs of society.