Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development overweight the disadvantages?

One of the most controversial issues today relates to benefits and drawbacks of distance learning. Technological advancements have integrated learning and teaching via internet which are easily accessible in different parts of the world. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view

On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the benefits of considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that students enjoy the benefits of flexible schedule and self-learning pace. It is also possible to say that on-line learning helps to reduce the expensive tuition fees and the hassle to travel and stay in the university in the duration of studies. One good illustration of this is students are able to continue their full time employment while study part time via distance learning from another part of the world.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact students that lack of self control will have a undesirable outcome from distance learning. People often have this opinion because this on-line course required strong determination and full focus in order to repel all the distractions. A second point is that students are not able to engage a discussion freely with their lecturers and peers. A particularly good example here is through discussion, students are likely to understand better compare to the peers which does not involved in any discussion.

As we have seen, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that it is a great development for mankind if distance learning is used in a correct manner.