work with mistakes 2 In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

For generations in many countries young adults have been encouraged to take a gap year after high school. Below merits and drawbacks of the prospect will be discussed in details.

On the one hand, there are several gains of the practice. Firstly, studying at high school and preparation for the final exams is a challenging and arduous task. In fact, many listeners are so exhausted that they may experience severe cases of anxiety, hysteria, and even a nervous breakdown. To address those psychological illnesses and syndromes doctors often prescribe having a journey to a foreign country. Secondly, some need get financial resources to pay for studying at university. Not going directly to a tertiary institution allows a person to earn and save up enough money to start education without taking a student loan. Accordingly, those are several benefits of having a year gap.

On the other hand, some downsides ought to be mention as well. Primarily, those who took a gap year less likely will enroll in university. Statistics shows that the majority of those who began working after school have never pursued a degree and a potential reason for this is encountering the experience of liberation from parents and their rules. On the top of that, having the one-year leave may unfavorably influence on students’ academic records. In fact, young adults who avoid taking a gap year are more likely to graduate from university than those who took it. It is plausible to speculate that to study successfully a person should recall a lot of information from a school program and the data is well-remembered by those who went from school to university directly than by those who had the vacation. Those are a few negative facets of the custom.

In conclusion, the tradition of having a gap year between school and university has some shortages and virtues and each person has a right to decide what is better for him or her.