You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.Some people think that professional athletes make good role models for young people, while others believe they don’t.Discuss both these points of views and give your own opinion.Write at least 250 words.

In the modern world, being a professional sportsperson is gradually becoming an alternative livelihood for some individuals to survive. It is commonly believed that a sportsman can be regarded as a role model for the youth to emulate. However, other people oppose the view.

It is reasonable to believe that young people can be positively affected by a sportsperson. First of all, most athletes have a variety of valuable qualities that are worthy of serious attention. Lee Chongwei, a badminton world champion, for example, is well-known for his steadfast dedication and tremendous perseverance which are vastly valued by the whole world. Therefore, such qualities can inspire young people to become hardy individuals. In addition, athletes also play a significant role in encouraging the youth to take exercise regularly and maintain their health by providing guidance, as they have an impressive proficiency and knowledge about the importance and benefits of daily exercise.

On the other hand, it is also worth mentioning that some sportspersons are not always the optimum role model for the young. Firstly, athletes play no role in educating young people, especially school students, about the approaches to enhance their academic performance, as most sportsmen are ineffectual at theoretical studies. Furthermore, a large number of sportsmen have difficulty in disciplining themselves and cannot refrain from a series of temptations, thereby deviating from social norms and becoming notorious for misbehaviour, including doping or sexual scandals. As a consequence, most psychologically immature adolescents may develop a tendency to imitate them blindly.

To conclude with my opinion, most athletes are well-qualified for being viewed as a good role model for the youth, attributable to their valuable qualities. However, the minority of sportsmen without much self-discipline might also negatively influence the young, thereby misleading them.