63. Universities should spend more money on improving facilities (eg. labs and general equipment) than on hiring famous professors.

The status of each country can be recognized by the ranking of its universities and academic achievement of university students. When it comes to the quality of universities, controversy surrounds the issue of whether considerable budget should be allocated for facilities such as laboratories rather than for salaries of distinguished professors to be hired. Some people are of the opinion that famous professors are able to provide the latest information for students, resulting in submitting more international articles. I believe, however, improvement of facilities would be more advantageous for students at universities due to the the following reasons.

One of the most interesting aspects of the current discussion which demands a keen contemplation is that equipping a university with a wide variety of facilities and conveniences would enhance the scope of students’ knowledge. Without technology and highly advanced equipment in a laboratory, a student who studies engineering cannot expand his knowledge In order to get accurate data and precise graphs, because he needs to work with tools, working accurately. In this case, he is able to rely on his data to continue the rest of his experiments. Moreover, if he faces some problems while carrying out his researches, having easy access to other facilities such as high speed Internet connection and advanced library enable him to get various information. As you can see, all his problems can be solved without needing to famous teachers.

Another noteworthy aspect of the ongoing discussion which needs to be reflected is that just hiring well-informed teachers could not guarantee improvement of both universities and students. These professors are too busy to devote their precious times even during office hours for students’ problems to be dealt with. In fact, they pay more attention to their own research areas and publishing better articles in well-known journals. In addition, most of the time, when students are considering taking their specialized courses with them, their classes are full. In other words, their classes have no sufficient capacity for all students to take advantages from their experience and information. Consequently, most students are deprived of benefitting from education and knowledge of famous professors.

To sum up, both making the best use of the established facilities at universities by all students and developing their research areas are the results of spending huge amount of budget on facilitating university, which benefits both professors and students effectively. I hope that all governments understand how important the role of universities are in progressing a society.