Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Agree or disagree, provide specific reasons and examples to support your thesis.

The truth is not the most important thing in relationships

Some people say that in any kind of relationship between people, the truth should always prevail among any other thing. I believe this statement to be false, as there are not only other things more important than telling the truth but also many different types of relationships.

For example, in a romantic relationship. Regarding the truth’s matter, and especially in this kind of bond, little lies can help to keep things at ease. Imagine for a moment a girlfriend asking his boyfriend if he thinks she looks fat. If she were fat and her boyfriend ever dared to tell the truth, what a catastrophe it would be! My parents and grandparents have been married for over thirty and fifty five years, respectively. And they all agree that one or two small lies won’t do any harm to the marriage as long as they keep trusting each other over the important stuff.

Another case where telling the truth could result in detrimental of the relationship could be in the case of job relationships. In order to maintain a peaceful job relationship, the ability to achieve the goals of the team as well as being respectful and polite with the fellow employers are far more important characteristics than always telling the truth. This is as important between employers as it is between an employer and its boss. I’m not trying to say that an employer should lie about his work or any other matter related to the labor field, as it would be very wrong. But sometimes it is not necessary to be completely honest over personal affairs. It once happened to me during my internships that my boss asked me if I was having some troubles with my boyfriend, which I was, but I lied to her and told her I wasn’t because it wasn’t any of her business.

To conclude, there’s always going to be one thing that is more important than the others when two people is engaged in any kind of relationship. It is not ok to generalize and say that one thing, such as always telling the truth, is more important than any other thing. Depending on the nature of the relationship, there will be other things that will more important.