A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your position.

When I heard about the announcement, several advantages and disadvantages have come in my mind. Everything in this world has its own pros and cons, sometimes positive influences dominate on negative or vice versa. Some people in my community opine that our society will be benefited without considering the bad impacts on the environment.

Factories are essential parts of our lives, those flourish economy. It creates job opportunities, so an educated person can earn with dignity. Thus it helps to decline the number of unemployment in the society; as a result purchasing power of citizens is increased inflating the GDP of the country. Thus average living condition of people becomes better. So, constructing a factory will strengthen the country’s economy.

In contrast, factories have their negative effects on environment tainting air, water, soil. Among them most threatening one is air pollution. We all know that due to excessive emissions of greenhouse gases like oxides of carbon, sulphur and other inorganic gases from factories increase the average temperature of the earth. This increment in temperature results in melting the icebergs in polar region, increase in sea level. Certain types of greenhouse gases like CFC react with the ozone layer which protects the earth from Ultra Violet rays and this causes depletion of ozone layer. Moreover, emission of toxic pollutants from factories cause respiratory trouble, heart and lungs problem and presence carcinogenic substances in air is sole responsible for cancer in human. Furthermore, effluent from factories contaminates nearby water reservoir spreading water borne diseases. Besides, when this polluted water mixes with ground water or is used in cultivation, pollutants accumulate in crops and thus while consuming these crops, we also indirectly affected by those.

Moreover, everyone in the community gets annoyed due to noise pollution caused by sound of machines, trucks transporting the manufactured products and bringing the raw materials to factory. This noise pollution hampers the peace and calmness of surrounding, affects the concentration in studies; small children and elders with heart problems are mostly affected by this.

In conclusion, pondering over all possible effects on the society I oppose the construction of a factory in a community as it has several adverse influences on mankind.