Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Advertising can tell you a lot about a country. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Considering the word advertisement, it provokes many concepts among different people. Some might consider it a positive tool in the fate of a country, while others may think of it unquestionably a reason of conflict. As far as I am concerned, I adopt a firm position which will support the statement that commercials are absolutely a reflection of a country. There are many reasons for this perspective but I will discuss only the primary ones here.

Beginning with the fact that advertising depicts a country's culture and customs. Indeed, some people have certain reservations regarding some particular type of commercial, for its negative impact on the society. However in most cases, these are one of the efficient ways of public communication. I would like to add an example here to further illustrate my viewpoint. I remember, when I was in elementary school, one of my cousins came from Canada to visit us in my country, Pakistan. As he was visiting us for the first time, he had very little knowledge about my country, but soon he got to know a lot from our television programs. This in turn, made him decide to visit our northern cities for its simple and pristine life. He was so impressed by our tradition that he bought overseas channels when he got back to Canada. Similarly, I can recollect that media serves as an educative tool. Consequently, I can safely assume that without these variety of television shows my cousin could have had such positive impact. Considerably, this is the reason which makes this opinion stronger and explains this idea complete that advertising is a direct way of conveying a country's tradition.

There is another factor which deserves few words. The advertising helps understand the development of a country. Certainly, there are many private channels in a country, which are owned by some wealthy people and can be very advanced in technicalities, but the national channels utilize the state fund and best represent the true picture of country's progress. For instance, several years beck, television commercials in my country used to be very old fashioned, in terms of graphics, editing, and even the settings for a commercial. However, in few years, there has been a progressive inclination of youth towards media education. This has made a noticeable difference in the field of telecommunication and it has become much more advanced now. When today, I compare channels of some developed countries with that of mine, I do not find much difference. Presumably, this has been possible just because of the advent of the technology, and the best representation to portray this development is the television commercials. This example clearly solidifies the dominance of my opinion that advertising play an important role in representing a country's growth.

By way of conclusion, based on the ideas explored above, I am of the opinion that in most cases, advertisement may seem insignificant to some people but it serves as a key stone in telecommunication. Not only does it reflect a country's traditional values but it also educates the world at large. For these reasons, I strongly support the statement that commercials really tell about a country. Therefore, in my opinion, a person should value the importance of advertisement for the betterment of his country.