Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their fields of study.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that education has an important role in the societies. Universities, as a vital part of education complex, should provide the suitable condition for students to achieve best results. Not all people concur when this issue arises. Being cognizant to the logic behind those who endorse or repudiate the legitimacy of this contention, not having any biased perception, I presume that it is not proper for the student to devote time for unnecessary basic courses which are not related to their major. Among a plentitude of reasons in support of this assertion, waste of time and energy and the existence of many required courses in the students’ field of study could be picked out for further analysis.

To commence with, a consensus has yet to be reached; however, regarding of the limitation of time and energy of students in the universities, based upon the statistics of different general questionnaires of sundry countries, people are unanimous about the conviction that advocating time for some courses, which students do not need in their studies, is waste of the time. As the famous Persian proverb says that “ time is the gold”, they could use this precious time for doing some useful activities. Furthermore, the population of students in each major is high and this enhances the number of students in the basic science classes. Thus, the efficiency of the class will be reduced and teachers could not show their best performance. For instance, in a large class, when students talk to each other, other students become distracted; moreover, the control of these classes is an exhausting duty.

In addition to the reason raised above; the important required courses in faculties could also substantiate the justifiability of the claim made at the outset of this essay. In conjunction with students belief, the period of each semester is very short and they could not allocate sufficient time for each required course. Thus, they could not do the best and their grade will be unsatisfied. The universities could increase the time of these classes by omitting some unrelated basic courses in each major. Indeed, the student could concentrate their focus on the important courses and they could gain better results. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was elaborated above. The results of a study carried out by Rice University’s graduate students unveiled the fact that about 45 percent of the regular students time should be used for doing the assignment of the basic science courses. This study shows that by eliminating some unimportant basic courses, the student could use their time for important required courses and universities give better-educated students to the societies.

Drawing upon of the above reasons, discreetly put, as far as my personal perspective on the topic is concerned, I reiterate that universities should eliminate some unnecessary basic courses. Not only it could prevent the loss of time and energy of students but also it gives some positive results in some required courses.